• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[Traditional Enneagram] Each type in two words


Active member
Nov 19, 2008
Each triad has an emotion associated with it, and each type in a triad relates to that emotion in a different way.

The three triads are:
1. Shame
2. Fear
3. Anger

The three ways of relating are:
1. Control
2. Denial
3. Identification


Shame Triad
2. Shame Denial - My shame is not there - everyone needs me, everyone loves me
3. Shame Control - I am ashamed, but shouldn't be - I am successful and accomplished, well-composed, assertive and confident
4. Shame Identification - I am ashamed - I am melancholic, I suffer, something is missing or broken

Fear Triad
5. Fear Control - I am afraid, but shouldn't be - I am intellectual, observant, detached, no-one can get to me
6. Fear Identification - I am afraid - I am loyal, paranoid, concerned, accusing
7. Fear Denial - My fear is not there - I am happy, I am busy, I am distracted, I am unaffected by your misery

Anger Triad
8. Anger Identification - I am angry - I am strong, controlling, unassailable
9. Anger Denial - My anger is not there - I am calm, I don't rock the boat, I am vibing
1. Anger Control - I am angry, but shouldn't be - I am principled, I am controlled, I am right