• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

E with a lot of I?

psyche

Hi, I debated a while back whether I was E or I, and decided that I'm E (with the help of some people here). I identify as E because I often gain insights from talking and tend to think and talk simultaneously (thought not always, but most of the time), and I am a teacher and speaker and my forte is speaking to and leading fairly large groups. I feel alive in front of groups and very much enjoy my work, and am successful at it.

However, leading groups drains me very, very much. My work is intense, intellectually and often emotionally due to the subject matter, and I am an extraverted feeler so I am highly tuned in to ensuring that the group is attended to as well as possible. And as a J I want to do a good job. So I put effort into my work. Nevertheless, the level of drain I feel after a single talk, or after an afternoon of teaching is profound, even when I'm teaching a class I've given so many times I can do it in my sleep. I sometimes need a full day or several days to recover. The same is true for being around a lot of people in a highly social setting. For instance, if I'm at a conference where I am a presenter, after a day of interacting with lots of people and giving an hour-long talk, I may need three full days to feel like my batteries are recharged.