• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[ISTJ] Could the ISTJ be considered a Rational personality?

Ingenue

I'm new to this game but I feel it should almost be impossible to tell an intelligent ISTJ and well rounded INTJ apart from each other, at least on the outside.

Possibly, except when they are under stress. I find that ISTJs fall into a kind of "doom and gloom" panicked attitude when things go wrong, to the point where one cannot even attempt to help them because they shut out all possible solutions. INTJs, on the other hand, seem to become excessively sensitive but still remain calm.

freeeekyyy

Cheeseburgers
MBTI Type
INTJ
Enneagram
5w4
Instinctual Variant
sx/sp
I understand that ISTJ's value typical customs and traditions like most guardians. But despite this, they still seem like a highly rational personality to me.

Or is this not true? Do ISTJs place guardian values above rational thought patterns?

Absolutely. I think the problem is people accept way too much of David Kiersey's statements. The four "rational" types are very different from each other, as are the four "guardian" types. I wouldn't call an ESFJ rational, but ISTJ, absolutely.

Nicodemus