• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[MBTI General] NFP in a relationship with an INTP

briochick

half-nut member
MBTI Type
eNFP
Enneagram
;)
Instinctual Variant
sx
Hi, I'm dating an INTP. I'm an I/ENFP in grad school for art therapy, he's an engineer. Unfortunately, because of school, I live about 600 miles from him. I know some good things are my perceptiveness about his feelings and responses and motivations and my acceptance of him and his quirks and his need for time. That he doesn't have to "state" everything, and that I'm not offset or hurt when he does. I acknowledge and appreciate motivation, not just presentation.

That said, I'm a feeler and so I do find myself hesitant to "flood" around him, which is a fairly normal and common thing that happens in my life, when the emotions spike. I'll not talk to him on the phone or I'll go to someone else when I'm "intense." I've mentioned that I cried to someone else and then felt I shouldn't have mentioned it at all because his response implied he felt kind of helpless and confused, and (perhaps) hurt that I'd gone to someone else(???). Should I have just gone to him and trusted he could handle it?