• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[INTP] INTP Enneagram Confusion

Keith

MBTI Type
INTP
Enneagram
Hello,

I'm new to the enneagram stuff and am hoping for some clarification from some of you. I'm certainly an INTP with enneagram 5 sp, but I'm having some confusion about the wing. Does everyone have a wing? If so, is it just the number, of the two bordering your main number, with the higher score? If that is indeed the case, then I am a 5w6, but barely, because 6 and 4 are both close, and they are both actually at the bottom of the list (of my ranked enneagram types).

What is really confusing me is that I've read descriptions here, and elsewhere, about 5w4 vs. 5w6 INTPs, and the common views don't seem to match with what I know about myself. Basically, I've read that 5w4s INTPs are perhaps closer to INFP while 5w6s might me closer to ISTJ. However, if that is the case, then I should be a 5w4, because I am really an INtP--my T is relatively weak while my N and P are quite pronounced. Also, it seems that most INTPs here are 5w4 (as evidenced by that zodiac thread), yet most seem even more scientific and detached than I am. If I am a 5w6, shouldn't it be the other way around?

:blink:

I would appreciate any insights you might have to offer on the topic! Thanks in advance.

simulatedworld

Freshman Member
MBTI Type
ENTP
Enneagram
7w6