User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    ISFP
    Enneagram
    4w3 so/sx

Default How do I help a self-destructive INTJ?

I'm at a loss. I've been talking to him for a few months and we're both interested in each other romantically, but he's been dealing with a lot of health issues, past trauma, heartbreak, anxiety/depression for years. He says he's very self-destructive. He has opened up a lot and I'm grateful that he trusts me because I know he's a very sweet, kind, sensitive person deep inside.

I just don't know what else to do. He says I make him feel different like no one before & "he doesn't know what to do" and is scared. He also says if we get involved he'll "probably ruin everything." But then the next day he'll say "I'm sorry. I want you more than anything."

How can I help him?
    "..But my dreaming self refuses to be consoled."- M.Atwood
    tumblr | instagram

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w6 sp/sx

My first thought: it sounds like he would benefit from counseling. Has he the means and willingness to do this?
    I've been called a criminal, a terrorist, and a threat to the known universe. But everything you were told is a lie. The truth is, they've taken our freedom, our home, and our future. The time has come for all humanity to take a stand...

MBTI
    ISFP
    Enneagram
    4w3 so/sx

Quote Originally Posted by Coriolis View Post
    My first thought: it sounds like he would benefit from counseling. Has he the means and willingness to do this?
    He says he's poor and can't afford it.
    "..But my dreaming self refuses to be consoled."- M.Atwood
    tumblr | instagram

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    639 so/sp
    Socionics
    LII Ne

You don't. As harsh as it may sound, he has issues he has to work through. On his own. You are supposed to be his (girl)friend, not his therapist.
    I'd just let him go. If he's spiraling, he'd just take you down with him.