• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[INFP] INFP careers

Thalassa

Permabanned
MBTI Type
ISFP
Enneagram
6w7
Instinctual Variant
sx
I know there is a stereotype about INFPs and writing, and it's true I love to write - my major is even English lit - but what are more practical types of jobs that INFPs are good at? Sure it would be great to be a novelist, but what other realistic strengths do INFPs have in the job world?

BlueSprout

/X\(:: :: )/X\
MBTI Type
pfni
Enneagram
Yeah. I've wondered about that too. Sometimes the list of careers INFPs are supposed to have a natural aptitude for can seem a little limiting if you want to eat; writing, music, art, ministry, etc. (though they are not *necessarily* impractical). These are some things that I thought - you may have already considered them, though:

I've read that psychology/psychiatry/counseling/social work/physical therapy are good bets and could be very practical choices. Also, I see teachers, editors, journalists, translators and professors (humanities).

I guess if you like seeing meanings/analyzing characters and exploring human nature, you might use those intuitive and analytic abilities and desire to connect with humanity to help people in counseling, psych, etc.