• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

The Future of Programming

Vasilisa

Symbolic Herald
Instinctual Variant
so/sx

I'm no computer scientist, but his message at the end resonated with me.

93JC

The idea of programming by doing something other than writing a text file isn't entirely dead. I've used LabVIEW, it's a graphical programming 'language'. (I only used it once, and I was not very adept at it.)

The salient point at the end regarding dogma is a very good one. It is very easy to become complacent and forego innovation for the sake of keeping things "the way they've always been". I've especially been thinking about this for the last few weeks because my boss is leaving the firm I work for at month's end and starting his own, and most of the complaints he has seem to centre on the changes at the company that have been made over the years. To him every little change was a change for the worse, despite a lot of them being better business practices.

At the same time I'm afraid I'm trapped in the same kind of thinking. After all, he had been with the company for 27 years; as long as I've been alive. It's pretty much the only place he's ever worked since graduating college. I quit my first job out of university after three years because, well...

... I thought it was changing for the worse.

ygolo

My termites win