• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Game Theory

Mr Galt

MBTI Type
ISTP
The topic has come up several times in books I have read and in discussions I have been a part of. Unfortunately I have little to no knowledge on the topic and would like to learn more about it and it's role in applied mathematics. Does anybody know of a comprehensive book I could buy that would go into detail on the somewhat broad subject?

Nocapszy

no clinkz 'til brooklyn
MBTI Type
ENTP
I'm looking forward to this too.

If no one's posted by then, I'll look at a few bookstores around my area tomorrow.

ygolo

My termites win

Mr Galt

MBTI Type
ISTP
von Neumann, J. and Morgenstern, O.: Theory of Games and Economic Behavior (Commemorative Edition).

It's a bit dated, but a classic. I never read the whole things but it was rigourously presented (though I remember it being a Dover publishing book and a lot less expensive, so hopefully its the same one I am thinking of. I can't believe there would be many VonNeumann and Morgenstern books on game theory)

EDIT: Damn! you beat me to it.

I saw that book on Amazon. After looking at the title I thought it concentrated heavily on applications to the topic of economics rather than an all encompassing study of the topic. I will look into it. Thank you.

Nocapszy

no clinkz 'til brooklyn
MBTI Type
ENTP