• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Is it possible to see spirituality without believeing in spirits...?

Clover

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
5w4
I had to do a project for my Art History class which involved picking apart an artists work and trying to find something spiritual in it. Well, it is rather difficult for me since I am not an artist and I am not spiritual. I don't believe in spirits, so I am wondering if I am wrong in denying seeing anything spiritual in the artists work. Since there are no souls for me, I cannot find anything spiritual in her pieces. I realize I am going to sound totally ignorant when I have to talk about this in front of people, I really didn't go out of my way to research spirituality in humans so it is difficult for me to understand. I generally understand things by experiencing them, seeing them with my own eyes or empathizing with them in some way, and I just can't seem to wrap my mind around the division of body and soul. :huh: To me, she is an artist making a statement about the world we live in, about the rights of human beings and about our perceptions and thoughts. Is a thought something akin to spirituality? She seeks to change our minds, to challenge us to think in different ways. Is that something spiritual? I can see a separation of mind and body, letting go of superficial things and judging based on cha