• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Meditation

SuperServal

MBTI Type
INFJ
Enneagram
9w1
Has anyone done any form of meditation?

I am not too experienced in it but I find the idea of focusing the mind and/or letting go of the mind appealing.

I have tried meditating a few time before by focusing on my breaths. I find it easier to have music playing in the background. I usually pick classical music because it seems to enhance focusing rather than demand attention like pop/rock/etc...

There were a few times last summer when I woke up feeling awful and totally opposed to going to work. So I put on music and tried meditating. I sat there with my back straight trying to keep my attention on my breathing and on the music at the same time. Once the thoughts disappear you can really feel the intensity of the music. I think this provides a focal point to aim your attention. It feels like the constant buzzing of the mind coalesces into one tightly contained point of awareness that synchronizes with the music. You can ride the curves carved out by the strings and float up in the ether with the brass. Returning to normal awareness after this, you feel refreshed. At least I did then. I was able to gather my energy and feel so much better.....and ready to go to work.