• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Trouble understanding Cognitive Functions ordering and Typing

Yaru

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
4w5
So.
I am not really good at explaining things, and I guess I´ve made a bit of confusion inside my head.

From what I understood:

-The dominant function is our strongest and what makes the 90% of our personalities, it is evident since we are young, and once you figure it out is easier to type someone. And depending if its introverted of extroverted it will give the I or E in the MBTI lettering. It is also paired with the opposite function which becomes the inferior one, Right? (like Ne+Si?)
-The auxiliary function is the second most important function and works as a ''helper'' of the dominant. So if the dominant is extraverted, the auxiliary will be introverted. Same with judging and perceiving functions.
-The tertiary function is the hardest to figure out because develops later in your life. You can figure it out more easily by pairing it with the auxiliary function.
-The inferior one is weak and more noticeable when we get angry or are stressed out.
+Shadow functions

What I didnt understand:
Why are extraverted and intraverted functions always paired?
Why is this structured like this?
Why there aren't any exceptions? There have always to be some kind of exceptions.