• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Ni, Tarot and Confirmation Bias

The WhimWham

MBTI Type
INTP
This is my first post here, but I've been reading about and pondering type and Jung's functions for about 10 years now. I'm not a newbie by any means.

Anyway, this may sound terribly biased but it's not meant as a judgement -- just trying to understand things by trying different angles.

It seems to me that tarot card reading is one of the best examples of Ni in action. It involves archetypes, introspection and "deeper meanings". It also involves massaging data and recontextualising it to fit those archetypal images.

In my opinion, it also involves a lot of "confirmation bias": a tarot reading can never be wrong, because all you have to do is recontextualise the data and... BAM! It all fits. (You also see this when an INTP and INTJ argue -- the INTP feels like the INTJ is playing a shell game in order to always be "right".)

So that's my hypothesis: so-called "confirmation bias" is an artefact of Ni.