• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

MBTI - mind to matter

Qre:us

Newbie here. :hi:

A few questions I have about the psychometric tool of MBTI.

In the simplest term, it tries to tap into an individual's preference for certain attitudes/functions, while assuming mutual exclusivity b/w binary functions.

Cool.

Oh ya, and, even though binary, there's still a degree of preference.

Gotcha.

Then, functions are ordered in a heirarchy of preferences, with one function aiding another from a different binary category...and so on and so on...until the 8th order.

..to finally give us...the BIG PICTURE.

If typing personality (which, to me, is about how we utilize our cognitive and motivational processes to predict a scheme of behavioural patterns) integrates what is IN our minds, to, what we ARE/DO/COULD BE...

....where is the bridge between the mind to the matter?

Meaning, how confident are we in the underlying assumption that behavioural outcomes are in line with cognitive and motivational processes?

Can we never think of instances where our behaviour contradicts our cognitive and motivational processes (e.g., influence of environment)? Most radically, can a person be truly type WXYZ but *prefer* and even test as type ZXWY due to the *some reason*? (e.g., behavioural conditioning not favouring their 'true' type)