• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Organic home garden

mockingbird

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
9w1
I have just planted a vegitable garden and I'm trying to do it organically as much as possible. I didn't use the expensive organic soil or start everything from seeds, but I want to at least control pests and fertilize organically.

I'm very new to this. I haven't even done a vegitable garden before period, much less a (mostly) organic one. I'm especially concearned with all the rabbits and deer I've seen around here. As well as ants. If there is anyone out there who has done this before, I'd love to know any tips that you might have.

I'm growing Roma and heirloom tomatoes, three colors of bell peppers, three colors of Swiss chard, red lettuce and arugula. I have no idea what challenges I'm in for with these crops, but any hints would be much appreciated:)

cafe

MBTI Type
INFJ
Enneagram
9w1
A neighbor told me to plant marigolds around my garden to repel rabbits. I tried it and not only does it make for a pretty garden, it seems to work. They smell kinda weird and critters don't like it.

Edit: Mulch is wonderful for weed control. A stable can be a good place to get organic fertilizer.

mockingbird

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
9w1