• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Why should I care about the functions?!

T

ThatGirl

Ok on cognitive functions I test as an INTP. Spend one minute in front of me and you would understand the reason I dont put too much stock in these things.

So every one is Ee this and Pt that.

I am fairly new to the whole MBTI thing but I have pretty much learned to type someone in RL on the spot. I will even give someone the test and when their profile comes back absurd I will just hand them the one I think and they are amazed by the accuracy.

So why the functions? They seem to differ depending on situation and are highly inconsistant.

heart

heart on fire
Jung's system is totally based on the functions and more reliable than MBTI.

redacted

You should care about the functions because even people who don't fit the profiles fit the functions.

The functions are more exact, and you can accurately move from function preference to type. You cannot accurately move from the four separate dichotomies to the functions.

The dichotomies pit things like Thinking and Feeling against each other when they are not in opposition. Thinking depends on Feeling and vice versa. Ditto for Sensing and Intuition.