• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[Traditional Enneagram] A few questions

Bardsandwarriors

Xena's boyfriend
MBTI Type
ENFP
Enneagram
4w3
Instinctual Variant
sp/so
Hi, I am only a newbie at Enneagrams, and trying to clarify my understanding. A few questions for you -

- What is the source of Shame? I read somewhere that Shame is caused by being so, because the so person is attuned to the wider social sphere and their position in it. But I also read ( Here ) that Shame is caused by being a feeling type (2-3-4).

- I read (in the above article) that Shame, Fear and Anger are the most basic issues which cause people to find a coping strategy, which comes to dominate their personality; and that there are 3 ways of coping with each one. I wonder if this is a theoretical model, and perhaps in the real world people have a random mix of issues, with a mix of coping mechanisms? For instance, you might cope with Shame by a combination of 4 and 3, and simultaneously with Fear by 5 and 7, making you a 4w3/57.

- Are Shame, Fear and Anger really the three basic issues, or are there more? Perhaps Reality is more nuanced than that?

I am at the stage of learning about my type, and being aware of the others, but not in any depth yet. Please excuse my idiocy if there are simple answers to these!

Last edited:

Bardsandwarriors

Xena's boyfriend
MBTI Type