• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

1w9 vs. 5w6

Owlesque

MBTI Type
INTJ
Enneagram
1w9
Instinctual Variant
sp/sx
I'm fairly new to Enneagram and the results of various online tests I have done have been for the most part inconclusive - I score about equally on 5 and 1 as my highest with a leaning towards 5, and reading into the wings I associate most with 5w6 and 1w9. I understand that both are quite common for INTJs and can superficially appear very similar, in that both are generally rational, stoic and cynical perfectionists that keep emotion on a tight leash. I can definitely relate to the undercurrent of judgment and anger that is often mentioned with respect to 1s and especially 1w9s, but in terms of the triads I find more in common with the thinking triad. I have not yet looked much into instinctual variants.

What are some key differences or motivations between the two? How might the two act differently in a given hypothetical scenario?