• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Can you have unusual Enneagram/MBTI combinations?

"?"

MBTI Type
TiSe
I was thinking that perhaps they measured different things. But what is the difference between cognition and emotions/environment? It does seem like there might be one, but I'm not good at drawing distinctions.
Maybe this statement from Tom Flautt and John Richards will help:
…MBTI appears to be concerned with the conscious, cognitive part of the psyche, while the Enneagram is focused on unconscious, motivating forces in the depths of the psyche, perhaps associated with its archetypal structure. The two systems come at the psyche in two contrasting ways.

The MBTI starts with the assumption that there are four sets of fundamental choices, E/I, S/N, T/F, J/P, each of which are equally good. The description for each of the 16 types is presented in mostly a positive light. There is an emphasis on goodness--different styles and patterns, but the overall focus is on positive attributes. Only after one has learned the basic system, does one's attention go to the negative attributes of a personality, for example, when one is in the grip of the inferior function.