• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Metal music for a beginner?

Red Ribbon

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
9w8
Instinctual Variant
sx/so
I'm a total beginner when it comes to metal music but recently, I've been craving more dark music. Do any of you have any recommendations for a total beginner? Post your favorite bands and music here please. :)

I'm not an expert on heavy metal but I say:

Metallica (everything before the black album ie Ride the Lightning, Killem' All etc) I love metal instrumentals.

Sacrophagus

Mastermind Fieldmarshal
MBTI Type
ENTJ
Enneagram

Wait, did you say "Dark" Metal?

Be careful what you wish for.

Red Ribbon

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
9w8
Instinctual Variant
sx/so
I'm not an expert on heavy metal but I say:

Metallica (everything before the black album ie Ride the Lightning, Killem' All etc) I love metal instrumentals.

I like Metallica. It's actually Metallica that got me this new found love for metal. Thanks for these recommendations :D

I'm not a big metal fan, but I think a good place to start would be to familiarize yourself with the 80s classics like Iron Maiden, Dio, Metallica, etc. and also the early infant stage from the 70s like Black Sabbath and Judas Priest. Then you can dive deeper into the other wide variety of subgenres like black metal, death metal, doom metal, symphonic metal, metalcore and more.