• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Developing an untraditional singing style wisely

EJCC

The Devil of TypoC
MBTI Type
ESTJ
Enneagram
1w9
Instinctual Variant
sp/so
Not actually about my own career, but I do want to pursue this seriously, and it could be helpful to others who want to go pro.

So - I am a mostly self-taught singer who has a great choral voice. Lyric soprano with a well-developed low range and basically no natural vibrato. I really only know how to sing chorally. But what I WANT to do is sing rock. In a perfect world I’d be a female Dave Grohl in my ability to transition from pretty acoustic to classic rock to screamed metal assault.

So I guess my question is, where do I start? Voice lessons? Even though voice lessons mostly train you to sing pop, opera, choral (which I can already do), or Broadway? Are there rock voice teachers? Can you learn how to scream via YouTube? How disheartened should I be by the fact that the only female rock singer whose timbre is as light as mine is Lacey Sturm from Flyleaf?

Merced

Talk to me.
MBTI Type
ESTJ
Enneagram
28?
Instinctual Variant
so/sp
I would say start with developing a good, extensive warm up routine and then work on performing in front of people. Practice, practice, practice. Etc. I think choir singing in itself should be providing all you need.