User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    974 sx/so
    Socionics
    EII Ne

Default Open Source and Working For Free?

It's been over a year now since I graduated from college with my Bachelor's in Computer Science - and the only job I had lasted less than 4 months (I was fired back in April after making one mistake too many during my usual Android phone app testing). Then towards the beginning of May, I was given an opportunity by the celebrity husband of a distant cousin of mine to come with my sister to India, where I could get some informal training for free in Java/.NET. Of course, that also didn't work out so well, with my parents bringing me back after realizing I would be bound by a contract if I decided to pursue the opportunity.

Now back here in the U.S., I'm still looking for work, still struggling to pay off my loans every month (at this point I'll have to contact my loan service provider to see if I can defer payment for some time), still considering the possibility of grad school (even though I graduated with a crappy GPA, which is why I'm currently studying for the GRE exam that I'll be taking in a few weeks), and still frustrated at not having enough experience that employers are looking for.

Does anyone know of any good open-source projects I can latch onto while continuing my job search? And/or is there a way I can work for free for a certain period of time, just until I gain enough experience to go for a paying job?
    “The world breaks everyone, then some become strong at the broken places.” ~Ernest Hemingway

Johari: https://kevan.org/johari?name=~MS*ANGEL~
    Nohari: https://kevan.org/nohari?name=~MS*ANGEL~

Quote Originally Posted by Nijntje View Post
    "And then, raising my lids slowly and looking out from underneath my lashes, i captured him with my eyes"

MBTI
    eNTP
    Enneagram
    5w4

Sorry to hear about those recent challenges.