• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Open Source and Working For Free?

Firebird 8118

DJ Phoenix
MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
Instinctual Variant
sx/so
It's been over a year now since I graduated from college with my Bachelor's in Computer Science - and the only job I had lasted less than 4 months (I was fired back in April after making one mistake too many during my usual Android phone app testing). Then towards the beginning of May, I was given an opportunity by the celebrity husband of a distant cousin of mine to come with my sister to India, where I could get some informal training for free in Java/.NET. Of course, that also didn't work out so well, with my parents bringing me back after realizing I would be bound by a contract if I decided to pursue the opportunity.

Now back here in the U.S., I'm still looking for work, still struggling to pay off my loans every month (at this point I'll have to contact my loan service provider to see if I can defer payment for some time), still considering the possibility of grad school (even though I graduated with a crappy GPA, which is why I'm currently studying for the GRE exam that I'll be taking in a few weeks), and still frustrated at not having enough experience that employers are looking for.