• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

INFPs in STEM?

SpecialSnowflake

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
4w3
Hello, all.

I'm currently a student who ended up studying computer science in college. Reasons? Not fantastic, but not all that bad either:

(1) I apparently have a certain aptitude for the stuff.
(2) My professor was big on encouraging women to join the CS department.
(3) Many people supported me in doing it, because job security and high wages and stuff.
(4) The budding feminist in me thought maybe it was my responsibility if I could do it to do it. (No, I don't think that necessarily anymore.)

There's a great big part of me that wishes I hadn't wandered down this road, but this is my final term and I'm making it, even if I'm grumbling through it all. Graduation is looming now, and the "smart thing to do" now is to start looking for work... if not for myself, then at least for the sake of appeasing the million people asking me what's next.

So I figure I have a few options:

(1) Abandon my degree and learn how to make coffee.
(2) Find a tech job that is more friendly to INFP / type 4 personalities. (Not entirely sure what that'd be; I want to hear from you!)
(3) Curl up in a ball and keep watching Netflix and crying because quarter-life-crisising is hard.