• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

Masters Program Decision (Languages)

ZiL

MBTI Type
ENTP
Enneagram
567?
Alrighty, so I've been driving myself mental for over a year now imagining which subject I would be happiest studying long term. I applied to schools for each of the three subjects I studied at the university. Right now I've begun narrowing it down, and am thinking I will probably stay at the same university for a couple of years to do a master's with the intention of continuing on to a PhD somewhere else afterward. I am stuck between Spanish and German. I have been accepted to the Spanish program, and will be accepted to German probably this week.

Can anyone tell me what they think or what they know? Also, as for funding, what would you say is an excellent offer? Right now I have offers for teaching assistantships and additional funding, but I was wondering what sort of stipend is considered good.

Also, I know careers related to Spanish will be easier to find, but can anyone give me some thoughts about PhD study or later careers with a background in either language?

I only have a little time to decide, so I am open to hearing everything right now.

Thanks guys.

Little Linguist

Striving for balance
MBTI Type
xNFP
Instinctual Variant
sx/so