User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w6

Default New member. Could you help me to type me in?

Well, first of all, hello to everybody; I'm new in here (and sorry if some of my expressions sound strange; I'm not English-speaking).

A book about enneagram has recently come to my hands and I have some doubts that I'd like to resolve. When reading the book I identified myself strongly with type 5, and my mother also identified me as a 5, almost immediately. All the tests I've made say clearly that I'm a 5, but there's still some aspects that don't seem to fit well.

On the one hand, I'm indeed a cold and detached person, that always keeps the distances; I don't like others seeing too much of my inner self. My emotions aren't usually strong, I mean, I don't seem to feel as happy or as sad as other people do. For me it's awkward when I see people crying, and I'm not good at comforting them. I get the impression that people come to me seeking objective opinions rather than warmth or sympathy.
    I've got also the compulsion to live as austere as I can, because I see material needs as weaknesses; I don't buy anything that I don't need, and I don't throw away anything that could be useful someday.

But on the other hand, nobody who really knows me would say that I'm passive, quiet or gentle. I've got a quick-temper, I've got problems controlling my anger, and whenever I feel I'm being attacked (and that's often) I react with aggression (unless I feel very insecure and outnumbered). I've had problems with people because of this attitude.
    In social groups I usually stay silent or laconic, although that's rather out of boredom or indifference than shyness. But as soon an interesting or polemic topic arises, I tend to strongly defend my opinions. I recognize that I'm pretty dogmatic and intolerant sometimes, and I see things as correct/incorrect as long as they agree with my point of view.