User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    INTJ

Default New guy; some thoughts

I just found this place tonight. I took the test in the book "Please Understand Me" many years ago and found out I was an INTJ. Some thoughts related to this and some questions for you other INTJs...

I'm a computer programmer. Just about everybody I know who is a professional computer programmer is an INTJ.

I had two "best friends" in high school. Both are INTJs.

My wife of 15 years, who I relate to very well, is more of an INTJ than I am.

In discussions with my INTJ friends I have learned that we share some characteristics. Among these are:

We don't like to make mistakes in front of others, to the point where it's almost paralyzing. This extends to a real fear of rejection and inadequacy when dealing with members of the opposite sex -- Rather than risk rejection or embarrassment, it is better to keep the status quo, and I know I got a lot of practice finding reasons/ways to avoid it.

When doing something we like, there's a nagging feeling we should be doing something else -- In particular, something someone else wants done.

Just wondering if any of this sounds familiar to other INTJs.

MBTI
    INTJ

Hello fellow INTJ

As far as the mistakes thing, if I make a mistake I admit it, but I do everything I can to make sure I don't.

Status quo in social situations, yep I won't even talk to somebody in public unless they were introduced by someone I know and like, like being very important as well, or I see something blatantly in common with them. As far as females, I don't do the whole pursue thing in any way.

Doing something for someone else? Not if I don't get something out of it as well, I am extremely selfish and feel that if everyone else was too, it would be to the benefit of everyone, so I love doing things I enjoy and definitely don't feel guilty about it.
    Question everything especially yourself.

Opivy1980

MBTI
    FREE
    Enneagram
    594 sx/sp
    Socionics
    LII Ne