User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    ISTP

Default That elusive creature... the female ISTP

And I see there are some other such lurking around here, which is sweet!

About Me!

I live with my INTP partner, who is a grad student. His school friends are (predictably) pretty much all N types, who to me are like fun aliens. I was introduced to MBTI by him and his ENFJ mom; I tested as ISTP, saw a description that said ISTPs like fixing things so much that they will create problems if they don't have enough, and said "holy crap, there must be something to this!" Both my parents are Ns and I went to an N-heavy elite college, so I'm in the somewhat unusual position of being an S who's usually been in the minority as such.

I work as a freelance programmer. After college I got a 9-5 "real job" programming, but quit after just a few weeks because I couldn't stand having to go to an office every day; just like I skipped the last two years of high school to run a theatre group and work for my parents because showing up at school every morning seemed way too restrictive :P. Debugging is my favorite part of programming, and I like installing new operating systems on various things I find in my house.

I'm not very good at taking the lead in conversations or friendships, but that usually doesn't mean I'm not interested. I like getting to know people through doing activities together (e.g. becoming friends with a lab partner, or having a game night with new potential friends), and I'm not likely to continue pursuing friendships with people who don't enjoy activities I enjoy. I'm inclined to talk more or be more verbally aggressive when I drink (which is fairly frequently). I spend all day at home working my myself, and then I often get lonely/cabin feverish in the evenings and try to find people to hang out with.