User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    ISTJ
    Socionics
    ISTj

Default Hi from new ISTJ

Hi there. Stumbled across this fab forum tonight, I had no idea y'all were here!

I've been posting at Similarminds for about 2 1/2 years or so. Love it there but it can be a little quiet sometimes.

I'm kind of a weird ISTJ. 32 years old, female. Kind of alternativey minded, into permaculture, personal growth, and things like that. (Ever get the feeling all the ISTJ profiles were written about some 70 year old conservative man? I do.) Had some sort of spiritual awakening when I was about 24, I don't quite know how to describe that.

Grew up with an ISTJ dad who's narcissistic, rigid, irascible and tedious, and made it my mission to not be that kind of ISTJ. I will face up to any flaw in myself no matter how painful if it means I don't have to live by dragging others down. I've been aware of MBTI for about 20 years now, gradually getting more and more interested, using it to gain self awareness, and gradually acquiring a working knowledge of more and more of the types so I can do a better job at relationships. My main sources are the Barron Tieger books: they give me the system with which I can make sense of my own observations. I research and analyse the crap out of everyone and everything - it is my way and it is how I reach insight (along with talking things through with trusted friends). Some people take offence and think "analytical" is some sort of swear word, but if I listened to them, I'd never get to learn anything.