User Tag List

12 Last

Default What is reality?

What is reality? Isn't everything we know and see subjective? How do we know for sure what reality is? After all, everything's perspective and we never know anything for sure.

Bunnies & Rainbow Socks Kayness's Avatar
    MBTI
    ISFP
    Enneagram
    9w1 sp/sx
    Socionics
    SEI

Hi. Engaging in Sensors in philosophical discussion ? I'll try my best to answer but I'm not very good at articulating myself. My thoughts too often get jumbled up and most of the time I find it difficult to untangle them. That's why I'm a visual artist rather than a writer :|..
    so please be patient.

Quote Originally Posted by Aleda View Post
    What is reality?
    in the strictest sense, reality is a distillation of what information our sensory organs receive, send to our brains, and measured against our brains' archive of what we already know and interpreted. Basically our reality is what our brains interpret the information we receive to be.

Isn't everything we know and see subjective?
    to a point, yeah. As in, they're not all subjective to the same degree.

How do we know for sure what reality is?
    Philosophically speaking, I don't think we can know what the absolute objective truth of something is, but we can know many things beyond reasonable doubt, as in, we can know something with enough certainty to the point that it's nonsensical or contrived to try to argue otherwise. Also, we implement objective standards and measurements, for example, the trajectory of a thrown object or frequency of noise can be described through mathematical language, which is far more objective and precise than any attempts to describe with words.

Hope you're getting what I'm trying to say here.
    9w1 4w5 5w4 sp/sx RCUAI
    art blog
    Twitter

"I set about seeking a style in the realm of legend. Something that might allow me to give free rein to my juvenile sense of romanticism and the beautiful image"
    - Leni Riefenstahl