User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    ISTJ

Default ISTJs - what do you do for a living?

Are you an ISTJ who enjoys your career?
    What do you do? Did you enjoy the coursework that got you there?

At 29, I am a structural engineer w/ my PE. This fall I started taking night courses. I am enrolled in an accounting program but am definitely not passionate about learning how to audit or do taxes. I may be good at it, but just about any liberal arts class would be more exciting (sociology, history, psychology, heck even art or music.) Not sure what I would do with those liberal arts classes though.

MBTI
    ESFJ

OK, i am curious .. If you are not passionate about it .. Then why are you going to do it??? Why not do something you are passionate about?

Sorry ..
    “I made you take time to look at what I saw and when you took time to really notice my flower, you hung all your associations with flowers on my flower and you write about my flower as if I think and see what you think and see—and I don't.”
    ― Georgia O'Keeffe

MBTI
    ISTJ

Because I struggle to figure out what I am passionate about....and something in the accounting/finance field always pops up in the past 6 career tests I have taken.

Although I would enjoy taking a bunch of couses in liberal arts, it just doesn't seem to be very practical.

Also, sometimes the tasks you are doing outside of school are different then what you learn about....e.g. in engineering school there was always a firm solid solution, but in the real world much more creativity is involved and 3 different engineers solve the same problem 3 different ways.

MBTI
    ?

I don't know for certain that I'm ISTJ, but right now it fits the best. I work in politics, and I've always been drawn to the social sciences in general. I love history, sociology, (some) macro-economics, campaign strategy, demography, justice, etc... I admit that I can get bored out of my mind with some of the public policy details though.