User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    ISTJ

Default ISTJ & Computer Programming

I am not sure if this is the right place to put this thread, but here it goes.

I recently graduated from a major in Computer Science. I have some work experience in software programming in 2 internships. I am having serious second thoughts about a career in programming.

I know many places list computer programming as a possible career for ISTJ, but I just don't see it working well.

Some of the pains I recall having during my internships:
    • software development requires programmers do time estimate... but it's hard to get a good estimate right because it depends on the complexity of the issue, familiarity of the code, and 'messiness' of the code - this causes me a lot of stress worrying about getting the estimate and the actual work complete
    • I have trouble visualizing software design patterns: they are abstraction put in to enforce structure and behavior of the code so it's easier for people to think about. I see the code, but I can't make the connection without taking a lot of time mapping it out.
    • I seem to have trouble seeing the big picture compared to the other developers.
    • I seem to be the only one that needs a walk to freshen up my mind after solving some stuff.
    • I had a headache after work EVERYDAY. But that might be related to not getting enough sleep (7 hrs). One of my co-worker even took the reference book home and read it. How did he do it?

Am I or are the online MBTI career pages crazy?
    Last edited by Ozz; 04-06-2009 at 08:05 PM. Reason: subject-verb agreement

MBTI
    InTP
    Enneagram
    9w1 sp
    Socionics
    INTj Ni

hm, I think you're making a good point against going into software development per se as those skills are pretty crucial, however have you considered doing Quality Assurance type of work (with software)? that's usually less involved with the "genesis" of the software and more with the detailed nitpitcking of its operations.