• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[ISTJ] ISTJ & Computer Programming

Ozz

MBTI Type
ISTJ
I am not sure if this is the right place to put this thread, but here it goes.

I recently graduated from a major in Computer Science. I have some work experience in software programming in 2 internships. I am having serious second thoughts about a career in programming.

I know many places list computer programming as a possible career for ISTJ, but I just don't see it working well.

Some of the pains I recall having during my internships:
  • software development requires programmers do time estimate... but it's hard to get a good estimate right because it depends on the complexity of the issue, familiarity of the code, and 'messiness' of the code - this causes me a lot of stress worrying about getting the estimate and the actual work complete
  • I have trouble visualizing software design patterns: they are abstraction put in to enforce structure and behavior of the code so it's easier for people to think about. I see the code, but I can't make the connection without taking a lot of time mapping it out.
  • I seem to have trouble seeing the big picture compared to the other developers.
  • I seem to be the only one that needs a walk to freshen up my mind after solving some stuff.