• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[MBTI General] New graduate. All my "mentors" are idiots, and looking to get on a power trip. Help!

mysavior

Permabanned
MBTI Type
IT
New graduate. All my "mentors" are idiots, and looking to get on a power trip. Help!

I'm a new Software Engineer. I just graduated within a year. Now, I'm new, but I've been coding for 10+ years, 6 of which were spent doing work for clients, so I'm actually very experienced for what my resume/age/title would indicate.

The problem I'm having is that the idiots I work with who are all at the Senior/Staff level are all trying to mentor me, and are imparting upon me knowledge that is absolute garbage. Also, as I'm the new/young guy, they are all getting on a power trip to "show me my place" whenever they get the chance. Why are they doing this? I think its because they realize that I'm not exactly stupid, or lacking in experience/knowledge, so they are trying to make themselves feel better after being constantly corrected/educated by this "dumb" new guy.

I don't want to dumb myself down, and I don't want to be dumbed down by what these idiots have to say. And as much as I've demonstrated competence in my field, they aren't easing up with the annoying speeches, bossy attitudes, childish gossip, etc,and I REALLY don't want to drown in the bullshit.