User Tag List

MBTI
    ENTP

Default ENTJ engineer - others out there?

Hi, I'm an ENTJ by the tests, but I have worked as a one-man engineering team for years (haven't worked a corporate job in, well, ever). I'm just curious how many others out there may be in similar positions, where major aspects of their lives differ greatly from what they'd expect for their preferences...

I am moving more towards a managerial/team leader role in my newest start up. But this is the first time in my 30+ years of life. Every previous position has been just me. Not much of a team to lead.

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram

Haha yes, you've found the MBTI & realized your true purpose... not merely to be an engineer, but to lead an ARMY of engineers!

I got my Bachelor's degree in engineering, but surprise surprise... I hated it already by the time I graduated. What field do you work in?
    RCUAI
    ---------
    "Man is free, but his freedom ceases when he has no faith in it."

MBTI
    ENTP

LOL. Actually, I found the MBTI about 15 years ago. Back when I tested as an ISTJ - the classical engineer personality. Made sense I was in school for it, then.

I'm a software engineer - worked for startups ever since college. Never had a corporate job.

MBTI
    ENTP

Hm, whoops...

ENTJ was what the simpler free tests out there have reliably given me. But when I just went and took a more comprehensive test, it scored me as a pretty extreme ENTP. Still, not a traditional engineer's personality.

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    3w4

architect here. you could consider that the "artistic" side of being an "engineer".

To me, the sign of a true "engineer" is that they focus on economy and reliability - more S than N. If your process involves coming up with ideas that might not be "practical", then you're focusing with your "N" capabilities.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    SCOEI / Inquisitive

MBTI
    ENTJ
    Enneagram
    8w7
    Socionics
    SLE