• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[MBTI General] What is intuition?

Blown Ghost

MBTI Type
ESFP
MBTI newbie here trying to figure out what intuition is. If sensing types favor instinctual sight/sound/touch/taste/smell what does that leave intuition to be exactly?

Lady_X

MBTI Type
ENFP
Enneagram
Instinctual Variant
sx/sp
it's the rest of it. ;)

angell_m

Permabanned
MBTI Type
IxFx
Enneagram
5w4
literally, everything else. you just know without really trying. it's a bit like hocus pocus.

"Intuition is the ability to acquire knowledge without inference or the use of reason." - wiki

N: "Something tells me God exists."
S: "God exists because the bible says so."

InsatiableCuriosity

MBTI Type
INTP
Enneagram
The best I have been able to explain iNtuition to others is that iNtuition occurs when we do not overtly take note of our physical environment but our brain subsconsciusly captures detail from which we are then able to identify patterns and rapidly make leaps of association to draw conclusions and make sense of a problem and its solution at some later date.

Blown Ghost

MBTI Type
ESFP
literally, everything else. you just know without really trying. it's a bit like hocus pocus.

"Intuition is the ability to acquire knowledge without inference or the use of reason." - wiki

Wouldn't that mean unreason[able]? :shock: