User Tag List

123 Last

Thread: INTJ writers?

MBTI
    INTJ

Default INTJ writers?

Hello my fellow NTs:

I'm a former INTJ teacher searching for a new career that will keep me challenged and interested! I have a tendency to get very bored with new jobs after the learning and excitement wears off. Of course, the NT Rationale group is the perfect group to give me objective advice!

My undergraduate degree is in Spanish - I love learning languages, in the academic sense, but I don't really enjoy careers where it is needed (i.e. teaching, nursing, etc) because I prefer to work alone. So I'm looking to start something completely new and I'm willing to go back to school to do it if necessary.

I'm considering a career in writing - either fiction or non-fiction, but nothing technical or news-related. Are there any other NTs, espcially INTJs, that have had success with this? It's my dream, but of course that "rational" side of me keeps telling me it's not practical and I wouldn't make enough money.

I put myself in your capable hands for career advice.

MBTI
    INTJ

Friedrich Nietzsche comes to mind ...

MBTI
    FREE
    Enneagram
    594 sx/sp
    Socionics
    LII Ne

CS Lewis was an INTJ writer who did well. I think Orson Scott Card might be another (although that's just my "feel" for his type, I'm not positive).

INTJs tend to have a "plus" when it comes to explaining abstract concepts (they are able to ignore nuances that really bog down an INTP, for example, and focus on their points of interest). They also are closure-oriented, which means they're better at working to deadline and marketing/promoting their work rather than getting too caught up in the writing and being loathe to focus on the "business" side of things.

Hopefully there are some INTJ writers here who can better advise you on how to angle and/or market yourself. Good luck!
    "Hey Capa -- We're only stardust." ~ "Sunshine"