User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INTP

Question Any INTP's around here make a marriage work with a ESFJ

Hello all,

I'm a message board veteran but new to discussions about personality types. Why am I analyzing this? Well, because I'm confronted with marriage problems after 8 years of marriage, and as I've discovered my wife is a ESFJ. We love each other but we truly don't understand each other a lot and we don't communicate well.

I realize that this is not surprising given what I've been reading that this is not only the least compatible combination for both personality types, but also perhaps the least compatible combination possible overall given the already tough assignment of being married to INTP's!

I was wondering whether there were any INTP's here who were married or in long term relationships with ESFJ's, especially male INTP's with female ESFJ's. If so, what are the things you do to overcome these difficulties in understanding and communication.

Thanks in advance for your help on this.

MBTI
    ENTP

Hey Chris

I'm not in this situation, you have picked an opposite on every level, which means you both have a lot of compromises/understanding to create harmony.

I know I struggle with J types at times, but I also know that P types would just mean that nothing practicle ever gets done. I need to let J types help me stay organised and help me plan - they are better at it than I am. I hate the controlling-ness but I do get that I need more of it than I give myself... It's finding a point between understanding what we want and need are different.

Sorry this may be pointing out the obvious, but all relationships are difficult, if you were with an INTP they would drive you nuts but different nuts (they would just be the same as you and be dull/double your bad habits and not bringing in good habits).

Good luck and I hope things pick up for you, having relationship issues can be very draining.

Lis xx

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w4 sx/sp