User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    1w2 so/sx

Default Calling all NT writers

If you were to write a romance novel from the perspective of an NT, what would the plot be and could you give us a sample line or two?

(As a caveat: I despise romance novels but thought it would be funny to hear what the least outwardly emotional types would write in the schmaltziest literary? genre that exists)

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w4

Interesting question. I studied screenwriting for a while and began a dramatic script about a young man who went to Italy while in the military. While there, he met a young woman and they fell in love. He had to return to the states and she had to stay because of her strong family ties and commitment to the family business, but they vowed that they would find a way to be together - in time. As he gets back to the states and life goes on as usual, they begin to talk less and less, but still are committed to each other in heart and in spirit. After a few months, she contacts him to tell him that she is pregnant - and it can only be his child. Desiring to have a family one day, he tells her that he will, over the course of the next few months, wrap things up in America and head over to Italy to see the birth of the child and be with her. She is confused and in trouble with her very traditional family.

As he is beginning to wrap things up in America (she's now about 7 months pregnant), he gets a phone message one day that she is going into premature labor. In a frenzy to see the birth of his child (something he wanted very badly), he jams to the airport, gets the first flight to NYC (so that he can then go to Rome, etc.). After watching the agony he's going through in trying to get across the Atlantic Ocean as fast as humanly possible, he finally arrives at her bedside, only to find out that she has given birth but, due to complications, she is about to lose her own life.