User Tag List

123 Last

Default My restless mind

I will start by apologizing in advance for my English. I am still new to the whole Ennegram test and personality types. I am trying to understand more about the functions application in real life.

I have been wondering about a certain characteristics about myself. I have always had problems with "thinking too much". My mind does not really stop. Sometimes, I am sleepless (even wake up from my sleep) and cannot stop my mind. Sometimes, these thoughts are meaningless. I have to keep my mind engaged otherwise, I will be drawn into negative thoughts. My mother (not sure about her type) has the same problem which got worst with age.

I would like to know if other ENTJ are the same and how they cope with having a restless mind.

Thanks,
    Sarah

garbage

All the time. I can't not think. I'm always either analyzing past mistakes or imagining how future scenarios will play out, playing either the past or the future over and over in my head. These thought processes are almost always in connection with the "next big thing" for me.. what's impeded me from achieving it before and what might stop me in the future. When this occurs at night (which is very often), insomnia and disrupted sleep patterns can become major issues for me.

I took up yoga and meditation, which actually do help somewhat. I also have a ritual of hot tea and light reading before bed.. when I remember to do it and I don't convince myself that it's pointless.

Usually, physical sickness also drains me emotionally, because I don't have the energy to practice my relaxation techniques or to do anything that would distract me from my thoughts. I'm facing this right now.. it's cold season, after all.

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w4