• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[NT] NTs and God

Mycroft

The elder Holmes
MBTI Type
INTP
Enneagram
5w6
Instinctual Variant
so/sp
I don't spend time arguing about God so I have little experience in the fine art. But I do have a question.

How do people who don't believe in anything which can't be measured or observed deal with the concept of mindfulness? Multiple realities?

What's your standard argument about consciousness?

- What do you mean by "mindfulness"?
- Multiple realities is an explanation intended to make sense of certain data. Whether it is true or not remains to be seen, so myself and people like me adopt a "wait and see" stance.
- Consciousness is a sticky wicket. The short and long of it is that nobody really knows for certain. (It should be noted, however, that there are a variety of perfectly plausible theories under consideration. I state this in an effort to stave off the inevitable, "See? Hence, God.")

Anja

MBTI Type
INFP
No. I'm not going to say "See?"

I'm trying to understand the explanation you give. I keep thinking that if you believe that you have consciousness you need to take that on your own personal faith. Something is using the brain's power to interpret the environment. Where is it? What is it? Do you need to take it on faith that it exists?