User Tag List

12 Last

Diving into Ni-space Crescent Fresh's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    4w5

Default NFs, how long have you been learning / studying about MBTI?

I'm just curious as I'm fairly new to this.

And here are the two questions:

1. How has attaining this knowledge changed you?

2. What's the most difficult thing you need to overcome upon learning more about typology?

Anew Leaf

I first learned about it 15 years ago.

1- It helped me feel less weird/out of place. It has enabled me to work better with other people and to understand them.
    2- Trying to type everyone you meet.

MBTI
    ISFP
    Enneagram
    4w5

how long have you been studying about the MBTI?

I have been strongly interested since 1990. I came from a somewhat difficult childhood, and I went into my college counseling office when I was a freshman. They administered the MBTI. I tested as INTP with very weak T, so I read the profile. Then I started getting books on it, including "please understand me" and "gifts differing". I guess I've had about seven different books on the theory, as well as reading online.

Quote Originally Posted by Crescent Fresh View Post

Discovering the MBTI was a sort of watershed even for me. All my life I'd been told that I wasn't normal, among many other things. Normal people polish their car every week. Normal boys don't cry. Normal people, etc.

My father constantly ridiculed me in the most derogatory ways. Never did I receive the slightest crumb of approval or praise until I was about 28 years old. My gifts were not recognized or developed. He was sort of like the father in "Dead Poet's Society", and he is probably ISTJ.

The MBTI was seen as positive feedback. Here was something which described me as different, but not pathological. It was a puzzle piece which helped me to love myself.

2. What's the most difficult thing you need to overcome upon learning more about typology?