User Tag List

12 Last

MBTI
    infp

Default What inspires you to write?

If you are a writer, what is it that inspires you to write when you do? I am referring to both beginning writing as a hobby, and the specific event of writing on a day to day basis.

Do you write out of habit, or are there specific moods you must enter, or things you must experience, in order to write?

Lay the coin on my tongue SilkRoad's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    6w5 sp/sx

I've done various kinds of writing both professionally and for my own satisfaction.

If it's professionally, I'm inspired to write by the fact that I have to, basically. actually, it has always helped me when others set deadlines for me. But I don't think that's really what you're getting at.

I used to write fiction but haven't for several years. Basically, I think I am a good writer stylistically but I tend to have a lack of creative ideas plot-wise...it is just not my thing...I have often talked with friends about this, since many of them say they have plotlines coming out of their ears but can't write to save their soul. I think we should get together and collaborate.

These days my main form of creative expression is poetry and I think it is really my voice. It seems to me to get closer to the truth of the way things are than any other form of writing, and maybe even any form of art...yeah, I'm that obsessed.