User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INFP

Default INFP: human resources? Educational administration?

I hear educational administration is an ISFJ type of job though human resources has been listed for INFPs.

I am an INFP or rather, I'm an IXXX. That I know for sure. The rest changes but I get INFP most often so I suppose that's what I am. I have a degree in psychology but I have been stuck in this place for years now. I tried grad school but dropped out. Too intense for me. Too much research and also I don't know if I can listen to stories of people wanting to commit suicide or people who have rage issues. I am a shy sensitive guy, you know.

Anyhow, I think I need to make over 50K a year to have a decent life and not worry about money on a daily basis. That means I can't write poetry or the odd article, which I enjoy doing. I won't make a penny. They have to remain hobbies. I think the two types of careers that I listed allow me to make that kind of money...at least eventually.

Why am I telling you all this? I was hoping that some people here have experience with those careers and can give me some advice. I've even considered Industrial/Organizational Psychology and I don't know if that would suit me because that sounds too business oriented and fast paced. I like to be able to connect with people and help them fulfill their potential. I don't mind some unpleasantness but at the end of the day I am a people person so I want to connect with people not see them as numbers.

MBTI
    INTP
    Enneagram
    5w4

Human resources could be tough for you - lots of rules to follow, procedure, bureaucracy. While technically it's a "people-helping" role, you'd have to get comfortable with your own values being subordinate to those of the company you're representing. Maybe better suited for an SJ.
    83% I 70% N 64% T 73% P | 5w4 sp/so/sx | Chaotic Good

MBTI
    INFP