User Tag List

123 Last

MBTI
    INFJ

Default NF Tips for a Lasting Relationship

Well, I thought it would be an interesting topic. What would you say is the best advice you can give to prevent putting that malignant distance between you and the one you love?

I am no professional, but I hear having separate bank accounts works wonders, haha.

(Note that I'm not in a relationship; just afraid that I might someday screw up a perfectly good one.)
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Enneagram 4w5 social

MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram

if you're at all bothered by something, bring it up and talk it out until you're both satisfied. otherwise, you'll end up holding enough little things inside that you'll start acting out passive aggressively or even just plain aggressively.

obviously use tact in bringing these things up though: I-statements and such.

i've seen so many relationships fail because of tiny problems growing over long periods of time...

MBTI
    INFJ

Quote Originally Posted by dissonance View Post
    if you're at all bothered by something, bring it up and talk it out until you're both satisfied.
    Agreed. I don't know if would be the case for anyone else, but for me being in a relationship where there is complete openness of experience is essential. I have been in relationships where that may have been attempted, but was eventually abandoned because of the difficulty in reaching any sort of feeling of being heard.

I have found the ideas of non-violent communication to be very useful in my relationship with another NF for effectively communicating my experience in a way that allows me to I feel I've been heard and for effectively engaging in their experience in a way they express leaves them feeling heard.

I personally wouldn't choose the separate bank accounts option. It would violate at some level my sense of openness between the partners, but that is a personal choice. Thankfully it's a choice my partner agrees with me on.
    "We don't see things as they are,