• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[NF] NF Tips for a Lasting Relationship

wedekit

MBTI Type
INFJ
Well, I thought it would be an interesting topic. What would you say is the best advice you can give to prevent putting that malignant distance between you and the one you love?

I am no professional, but I hear having separate bank accounts works wonders, haha.

(Note that I'm not in a relationship; just afraid that I might someday screw up a perfectly good one.)

redacted

if you're at all bothered by something, bring it up and talk it out until you're both satisfied. otherwise, you'll end up holding enough little things inside that you'll start acting out passive aggressively or even just plain aggressively.

obviously use tact in bringing these things up though: I-statements and such.

i've seen so many relationships fail because of tiny problems growing over long periods of time...

tovlo

MBTI Type
INFJ
if you're at all bothered by something, bring it up and talk it out until you're both satisfied.

Agreed. I don't know if would be the case for anyone else, but for me being in a relationship where there is complete openness of experience is essential. I have been in relationships where that may have been attempted, but was eventually abandoned because of the difficulty in reaching any sort of feeling of being heard.