• You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to additional post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), view blogs, respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free, so please join our community today! Just click here to register. You should turn your Ad Blocker off for this site or certain features may not work properly. If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us by clicking here.

[MBTI General] Dealing with (N)TJ work environments

Scott N Denver

MBTI Type
INFP
Enneagram
4w5
Hello all!

To put this topic in a little bit of context, I am an engineer by current profession, a former "laser research physicist", and spent a lot of time in grad school. All of those are/were extremely NT/TJ/NTJ environments. As in "look, someone who isn't an INTJ?!?!?!?" While one might initially think that research should be like a total ENTP playfield, in all of my experience its actually EXTREMELY INTJ with a dash of INTP, a smidgeon of ENTJ, and maybe maybe maybe an ENTP somewhere, far away, that you only see once in a while when passing in the hall. [My background is mostly physics, other fields are definitely much less INTJ populated. I'll bet I've been several places that were 75% comprised of INTJ's]. So my questions is "How do we as NF's deal with working in TJ environments?" If you wish to refine to NTJ environments in particular please feel free to do so. Realistically, most people that get selected for management/leadership tend to be TJ's, so I'm expecting that many people should be able to respond from personal experiences, even if you don't have a very math/technical background or work environemnt.