User Tag List

perdu fleur par bologne Martoon's Avatar
    MBTI
    INTP

Default Why "laundry list"?

Where did we get the idiom "laundry list"? I could see maybe "grocery list", but who makes a list of their laundry? Where I'm from, doing your laundry pretty much consists of taking all of your dirty clothes and washing them. No list involved.
    I'm not a procrastinator. I'm a long-term planner.

Permabanned
    MBTI
    ExTJ

Perhaps (this is me just taking a guess, it has no particular pieces of information to back it up) people used laundromats and such in the past more ,and would have needed a laundry list to keep stuff sorted out. (Or maybe it's military or something, though I have even less of a clue how militaries handled laundry in the past.)

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram

This is based purely on my critical reading of Mrs. Tiggywinkle, but I'm guessing it's a list of laundry items and what the owner wants done with it, used by a launderer/ess.
    The one who buggers a fire burns his penis
    -anonymous graffiti in the basilica at Pompeii

MBTI
    INTP

My guess is that it would be like a list of your laundry. Varied and diverse like your blue jeans to the leopard print g string.

MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram

In Africa I had a laundry list--they didn't have DIY laundromats, they had HOYDLTBAWWRIPL* laundromats. So it was nice to see all your items didn't accidentally get mixed in with others' items.

*Hand Over Your Dirty Laundry To Black Africans Who Will Return It Perfectly Laundered
    *You don't have a soul. You are a Soul. You have a body.
    *Faith is the art of holding on to things your reason once accepted, despite your changing moods.
    C.S. Lewis

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram

YES! I was right!
    The one who buggers a fire burns his penis
    -anonymous graffiti in the basilica at Pompeii

only bites when provoked
    MBTI
    INTJ

Quote Originally Posted by Usehername View Post