User Tag List

Page 6090 of 6784 FirstFirst ... 50905590599060406080608860896090609160926100614061906590 ... LastLast
Results 60,891 to 60,900 of 67835

Thread: Random Thought Thread

Alchemist of life Array Coriolis's Avatar
    MBTI
    INTJ
    Enneagram
    5w6 sp/sx

Quote Originally Posted by Tellenbach View Post
    There have been other strong female characters with scientific/ professional backgrounds: Dr. Beverly Crusher, Nurse Hathaway (ER), Colleen McMurphy (China Beach), Grace VanOwen (LA Law), but yeah.... Scully is probably the geekiest one.
    As a woman scientist, I can't say I have ever identified with any of them. I suppose Scully would have been the most likely, but I never watched X-files, and only learned much of anything about her recently, when someone mentioned her on another thread.

Quote Originally Posted by Ivy View Post
    One really compelling thing about the character of Scully for young women was the reversal of the stereotypes- she wasn't "the emotional one" or "the heart of the operation," she was the fucking smart and honestly maybe a little bit robotic one of the pair, and a strong skeptic who was very intellectually demanding of Mulder. (Not that he wasn't smart also, I mean, that's one of the things that was so damn sexy about him.) Scully was a character who wasn't written as a "Strong Female Character," she was just a person, a really smart person, who happened to be a woman. For a lot of the show's original run, the character of Scully could have been played by a guy with very minor changes, although in the 90s that would have meant giving up a lot of the sexual tension that was fun about the show. (Nowadays that's not an impediment; people feel free to ship Sherlock and Watson to their hearts' content.)

I just really can't overstate how exciting that was to a lot of young women in the 90s, myself included- the idea that we could be people first, not written into corners because of our gender.