User Tag List

Page 3262 of 6782 FirstFirst ... 226227623162321232523260326132623263326432723312336237624262 ... LastLast
Results 32,611 to 32,620 of 67815

Thread: Random Thought Thread

MBTI
    INFP
    Enneagram
    649 sp/sx
    Socionics
    IEI

Quote Originally Posted by Aquarelle View Post
    Oh, cool. My background is in linguistics and foreign languages as well (though mostly sociolinguistics, not so much structural).
    Oh, interesting. The reason I posted that is that today we got to discussing part of the nature of written English as it is used today, and we started talking about how due to spelling conventions it's moving away from being a purely phonemic language to almost featuring a hybrid of phonemic and logographic writing. That lecture interested me like nothing I've had in college so far. It was fun - hehe.

Starcrossed Seafarer Array Aquarelle's Avatar
    MBTI
    INFJ
    Enneagram
    4w5

Quote Originally Posted by Tyrinth View Post
    Oh, interesting. The reason I posted that is that today we got to discussing part of the nature of written English as it is used today, and we started talking about how due to spelling conventions it's moving away from being a purely phonemic language to almost featuring a hybrid of phonemic and logographic writing. That lecture interested me like nothing I've had in college so far. It was fun - hehe.
    That does sound like an interesting discussion! I remember talking about how although there is of course standard English (or any language), non-standard dialects aren't considered better or worse, in that they all get the job (communication) done. I thought that was interesting at the time, and I've often thought about it in relation to txt speak. Personally txt speak drives me crazy, but I suppose the same argument could be made-- it's sure not standard spelling, but it gets the job done!
    Masquerading as a normal person day after day is exhausting.

My blog:
    TypeC: Adventures of an Introvert